The Leading Community in Entertainment

What is the prize money for the UEFA Women’s EURO 2022?

The UEFA Girls’s EURO 2022 kicks off on JUly 6, with matches hosted round England.

A few of the greatest stars in ladies’s soccer will likely be in motion — and, this time round, UEFA has dedicated to an elevated prize fund.

The distribution of the cash, although, works very otherwise within the ladies’s sport. Here’s a breakdown.

What’s the prize cash at Girls’s EURO 2022?

The prize fund on the Girls’s Euros is €16 million (round £13.7m / $16.7m). That is double the quantity that was on provide final time, at Euro 2017 within the Netherlands.

In accordance with UEFA, two choices taken by European’s soccer’s governing physique have made this improve doable: “Separating the industrial preparations for its males’s and ladies’s competitions, and elevated general UEFA funding within the competitors.”

MORE: Miedema fires Netherlands to glory

How a lot do the winners of Girls’s EURO 2022 earn?

The prize cash for UEFA Girls’s EURO 2022 is cumulative. All nations within the event are assured a minimal payout of €600,000 (£517,000 / $627,000).

After that, they decide up extra money relying on outcomes:

A win within the group stage: €100,000 
A draw within the group stage: €50,000
Reaching the quarterfinals: €205,000  
Reaching the semifinals: €320,000 
The runners-up: €420,000 
The champions: €660,000 

So if the nation that wins the event additionally wins all their group video games, they’ll obtain a complete of €2,085,000m (round £1.8m / $2.17m).

What else do the winners of Girls’s EURO 2022 get?

The winners of the Girls’s Euros do, after all, get a trophy. This one was designed by GDE Bertoni of Milan, and was first seen in Manchester again in 2005 forward of the draw for that summer time’s event.

The champions will take away a full-size reproduction, with every of the squad getting a gold medal (with the runners-up getting silver).

The Women's EURO trophy on stage at the draw for the 2022 finals

UEFA by way of Getty Pictures

What occurred to the Girls’s EURO trophy that was used earlier than?

Germany saved the earlier Girls’s Euros trophy after they gained the event in 2001.

As West Germany, they gained as hosts in 1989; as Germany, they claimed the title in 1991, then launched into a outstanding run of six consecutive event victories from 1995 to 2013.

Girls’s Euros previous winners

12 months Host Winners
1984 Numerous Sweden
1987 Norway Norway
1989 West Germany West Germany
1991 Denmark Germany
1993 Italy Norway
1995 Numerous Germany
1997 Norway and Sweden Germany
2001 Germany Germany
2005 England Germany
2009 Finland Germany
2013 Sweden Germany
2017 Netherlands Netherlands

Leave a Reply